Feb 27

Bishop Garrigan’s TJ Schnurr Named Top of Iowa-West Player of the Year; Full Boys Honors Released


The Top of Iowa-West conference released its 2017-18 all conference teams and honors Tuesday morning. Bishop Garrigan’s TJ Schnurr was selected as the 2017-18 Player of the Year. It’s the first time in Schnurr’s career he’s received the honor. The junior also surpassed one thousand career points, moved into the school’s all-time career points top ten, and is now top five in career rebounds in Bears history over the course of the season.

Overall, Bishop Garrigan had four players selected. Schnurr and Angelo Winkel were first team nods, Cade Winkel earned a second team honor, and John Joyce cracked honorable mention all-TIC.

North Union’s Riley Bauer was a second team selection. In his senior year, he led the Warriors in scoring, rebounding, assists, and steals. His teammate and fellow senior Blake Crawmer was tabbed as an honorable mention selection. See below for the full list:

1st Team
TJ Schnurr Bishop Garrigan Jr.
Angelo Winkel Bishop Garrigan Fr.
Spencer Espejo Eagle Grove Sr.
Avery Busta Forest City Jr.
Sam Snyder Forest City Sr.
James Betz GHV Jr.
Ryan Meyers GHV Sr.

2nd Team
Cade Winkel Bishop Garrigan So.
Ryan Smith Eagle Grove Sr.
Ryan Theel Forest City Sr.
Nick Joynt GHV Sr.
Chett Helming Lake Mills So.
Riley Bauer North Union Sr.
Gavin Becker West Hancock Jr.

Honorable Mention
Easton Barrus Belmond/Klemme Jr.
John Joyce Bishop Garrigan So.
Niko Padilla Eagle Grove Sr.
Micah Lambert Forest City Jr.
Jared Graham GHV Jr.
Caleb Bacon Lake Mills Fr.
Nathan Beenken North Iowa Sr.
Blake Crawmer North Union Sr.
MaCoy Yeakel West Hancock Sr.

Player of the Year: TJ Schnurr, Bishop Garrigan
Coach of the Year: Ryan Pedersen, Eagle Grove

Permanent link to this article: http://algonaradio.com/index.php/2018/02/27/bishop-garrigans-tj-schnurr-named-top-of-iowa-west-player-of-the-year-full-boys-honors-released/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.