2024 Algona High School Wall of Fame Inductees Announced

by Tyler Lance
0 comment

The Algona High School Wall of Fame Committee has announced its 2024 class for the Wall of Fame, as three individuals and one team are set to be inducted during a ceremony that will take place ahead of the Algona football game on September 13th.

From the class of 2003, wrestler Jay Bjustrom will be honored. At the time of his graduation, Bjustrom had a then school record in wins, with an individual record of 121-18. Bjustrom was a three-time North Central Conference champion, appeared at state three times, and took home the 2003 state title at 130 pounds.

From the class of 2011, Ryan McMahon will be inducted.  McMahon was a multisport athlete, competing in basketball, cross country, and track.  In cross country, McMahon finished in the top four in the state in all four seasons of his high school career.  On the track, McMahon won 12 state medals including the 2011 state title in the 1600 meters.  In basketball, he received recognition from the state and conference on multiple occasions. 

From the class of 1969, Larry Taylor will be inducted.  During his wrestling career, Taylor became one of eight two-time state champions at Algona, winning a state title at 138 pounds as a junior and 145 pounds as a senior. 

The 1987 state champion Algona boys golf team will also be inducted. The team of Brent Emerick, Mark Mixdorf, Brent Peterson, Brian Peterson, and Matt Peterson, along with Coach L.R. Kueck won the class 3A state title of 1987.

The new inductees will be honored prior to the Algona football game on September 13th. Anyone looking to nominate a coach, athlete, team, or community member can submit a form to the Wall of Fame Committee by going to the “Wall of Fame” tab on the school website (algona.k12.ia.us), or by picking up a form from the Central Administration Office.

You may also like