No Contested Races Leads to Low Voter Turnout in Algona

by Brian Wilson
0 comment

–There were no contested races in Algona for Tuesday’s City and School Board elections, but there will be a new face on the city council next year.

Mayor Rick Murphy will serve another 2-year term, as he received 97% of the votes running unopposed in his bid for reelection.

Jessica Gronau will be the new face on the City Council, as she ran unopposed for the Ward 2 seat, garnering 99% of the votes cast. Don Johnson, who previously represented Ward 2, now will represent Ward 3, winning election there unopposed. Johnson’s home moved from the 2nd ward to the 3rd ward when the wards were redrawn in 2020.

Harley Kohlhaas was unopposed for his 4th ward seat, and he received 97% of the votes cast while Kathy Dearchs won the Council At-Large seat. Dearchs was appointed to the council Ward 3 seat back in September but sought election to the At-Large spot.

Dr. Brent Own, Todd Louwagie, Tom Nugent and Andrea Vinci were all reelected to the Algona School Board, as the four incumbents were the only names on the ballot for the four seats up for election.

With no contested races, only 333 ballots were cast in Algona on Tuesday.

You may also like